Texture

texture.jpgI have a friend who hates to go shopping with me because I have to touch EVERYTHING!!!  I just have to see how things feel!!  I think that art work should have some kind of texture to it, it should make you want to reach out and see what it feels like, art shouldn’t only be something that people LOOK at but WANT to feel and touch as well.  Now I know some art work shouldn’t be touched, like thick oil painting for example, thats a big no no.  Which is why I have such a hard time going into art galleries w/ oil paintings cause as I said, I have to touch EVERYTHING!!! 

So this week, lets really make people want to touch your artwork!  Some of the things I use for texture when I do my canvases is tissue paper under my paints, crumple it up, flatten it back out and then paint over it and let it move a bit as you do it.  Gel mediums are great ways to make texture as well, there’s some awesome ones out there that do all kind of different things. 

This photo is of a canvas I did that honestly I’m not really liking, it’s one of those things I started w/o a focal image and now it’s not going anywhere, however, you can see the great amount of texture it has to it.  I’ve used thick gel medium, a tar gel medium and a pumice medium on it as well as tissue papers and textured papers under the paint.  It FEELS fabulous!!!  Be sure to click the photo so you can see it larger and really see the texture that is there.

12 Responses to “Texture”


  1. 1 Kim Gibson February 3, 2008 at 2:35 am

    What terrific texture! I am a texture fanatic, so the more the better. This is really a winner! Kim

  2. 2 kreativgeschwafel February 3, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Not an easy challenge … but I think I stepped wide out of my box 😉
    Here are my inchies as the entry for this week:
    http://kreativgeschwafel.wordpress.com/2008/02/03/step-outside-your-box-texture/
    Thanks for looking,
    Ilonka

  3. 3 pat schmidt February 3, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Love the bees wax…..it
    gives such a mellow glow! Love those little girls under wax! You can feel mine if I can feel yours…LOL Here’s my blog & bees wax challenge:
    http://artrix-playtime.blogspot.com/
    Pat S

  4. 5 Sharon February 3, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    What a challenge.. This one took some time for me, only because I had to wait for the glues to dry.

    http://thealteringspotbysharon.blogspot.com

  5. 6 Cindy Jones Lantier February 4, 2008 at 12:23 am

    I posted old art, as I’m not feeling well this week. Maybe later in the week, I’ll make something new.

    http://www.lantier.org/2008/02/step-outside-your-box-saturdays-texture.html

  6. 7 gaby braun February 4, 2008 at 1:11 am

    I’ve posted it before about the beeswax, but it have many textures, so I’ve decided to participate of the challenge with that.

    http://gaby-cajubrasil.blogspot.com/2008/01/canvas-mit-besswax.html

    I hope it’s ok and thank for looking!

  7. 11 fatmasplace February 8, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    really very difficulty challenge, but now finished
    http://fatmasplace.wordpress.com/2008/02/08/textured-spring/

  8. 12 Rosie February 8, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I’ve made a tag with this in mind… so many textures to choose from!! Cracking challenge!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/02/08/texture/


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

