No Adhesive Allowed

Pieces from the Tim Holtz Industrial ClassI’ve only ever taken one art class as an adult and the instructor was none other than Tim Holtz.  I just find him to have such great talent and he sees things so differently.  One of the things that we didn’t use in our class was any adhesive of any kind.  Everything was put together w/ wire or brads or eyelets.  At first I thought, huh? How the heck are we supposed to do this??? But surprisingly everything came together rather easily.  I now have a new love for wires and eyelets, I even broke down and bought one of the Cropadiles that I balked at when they first came out.  (of course now they have a long reach one which is the reason I balked at it in the first place, figures!)

 So this weeks challenge is for you to put away the glues and tapes and pull out other ways of fastening things together.  Try to really think outside the box for this one, because this one might be easy for you to stay IN your box by just creating a layered card by using brads/eyelets on it to hold your layers in place.  I want to see you get your art wire out, clips, safety pins, sewing machine, eyelets and brads and put them to good use!

12 Responses to “No Adhesive Allowed”


  1. 1 Cynthia (Rainbow Lady) February 9, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    This was a very easy challenge for me as I had set the same one only a week or so ago.
    Thanks for having a look
    Love Cynthia xx
    http://rainbowladyscraftyblog.blogspot.com/2008/02/glueless.html

  2. 4 Rosie February 12, 2008 at 8:20 am

    I have not come unstuck, just haven’t used glue – and….. it was fun! I stayed strangely clean too!!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/valentine-unstuck/

  3. 5 kreativgeschwafel February 12, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    This was really difficult for me … but in the end I had an idea…
    Here’s my entry:
    http://kreativgeschwafel.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/step-outside-your-box-no-adhesive-allowed/
    TFL
    Ilonka

  4. 6 alice k. February 12, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Here is my first attempt with no adhesive. Scary!
    Thanks for the great challenge!
    http://yellowhousestudio.blogspot.com/2008/02/think-outside-box.html

  5. 7 fatmasplace February 13, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    your themes are always really challenges for me

    http://fatmasplace.wordpress.com/2008/02/13/valentine-2/

  6. 8 herminesplace February 14, 2008 at 8:52 am

    This was a great challenge. Here is mine: http://herminesplace.wordpress.com/2008/02/14/step-outside-your-box-no-glue/
    Have to try this some more.
    Warm regards Hermine

  7. 10 Nan February 16, 2008 at 5:30 am

    I really liked this challenge, even though I was limited to what I could find at work(because that’s where I made my collage), I really like how the paper clips look. My entry can be seen at http://pandoras-artbox.blogspot.com/2008/02/tuesdays-daily-artchallenge.html

    Thank you for looking!
    ~*~Nan~*~

  8. 12 bonniebluedenim March 1, 2008 at 3:39 am

    http://bonniebluedenim.blogspot.com/search/label/step%20outside%20your%20box%20saturday
    Just found all of you, and this is something I did previously…that was out of the box in the medium used….for me…and since then I think I have gotten back in the box…time to pop out again, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

