The Fabric of our lives

[I’m posting early cause I’ll be out of town this wknd] 

Fabric is everywhere!!!  We wear it, we sit on it, we put stuff in it, you cannot go a day with out seeing, touching, smelling, fabric.  Unless of course you stand naked in an empty white walled room w/ bare floors.  What would our lives be like with out fabrics?  Therefore how can we possibly create art with out including fabric in it from time to time?  I’m not just talking ribbons, strings, yarn or gaffers tape, I’m talking denim, cotton, sythetic blends, tapestries, you know FABRIC!!! 

This week, lets bring fabric into our art, but I don’t want to just see a card w/ a ribbon or fancy yarns attached to it, really stretch your imagination, cut up that pair of jeans w/ the big hole in the knee, or that pair of jeans you’re saving cause you MIGHT fit into them again SOMEDAY!! Create something that you can be proud to say you created.  Something that you had to Step Outside Your Box to do. 

13 Responses to “The Fabric of our lives”


  1. 1 aLLaNi February 22, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    good one, and great timing!! i just bought my first sewing machine. i was so sick of the “hand-me-down” ones that people gave to me because there was always something quirky about them.
    i can’t wait to get started on this week’s subject! 🙂

  2. 2 fatmasplace February 22, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    i love sewing. will start a new subject, but today i´ll show my first bookcover
    http://fatmasplace.wordpress.com/2007/09/14/albumeinband/

  3. 3 Heather Robinson February 22, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Your challenges are always so amazing… Here’s my submission for the week:

    http://creativesolace.blogspot.com/2008/02/mixed-media-monday-texture.html

  4. 5 rainbowlady February 24, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Here is my entry for this week.

    http://rainbowladyscraftyblog.blogspot.com/2008/02/snowman-materail-christmas-card.html

    thanks for looking

    Love Cynthia x

    I hope you will have a look at my new challenge blog too

    http://rainbowladyschallengeblog.blogspot.com/

  5. 6 sandee hyde February 24, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I bit the bullet and finally tried something I always wanted to do…sew an atc with all sorts of materials. This is my very first one. Lisa, I wouldn’t have done it without the challenge!

    http://sandees-sanity.blogspot.com/2008/02/soybfabric.html

  6. 7 fatmasplace February 24, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    i´ve sewn an art doll again. the fabric is an old selfcolored silkcloth
    http://fatmasplace.wordpress.com/2008/02/24/the-fabric-of-our-lives/

  7. 8 Nan February 24, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Sewing has never been my thing, but I beginning to like it more and more. You can see my entry for this week’s challenge at http://pandoras-artbox.blogspot.com/2008/02/saturdays-daily-artchallenges.html

    Thanks for looking!

  8. 12 bonniebluedenim March 1, 2008 at 3:44 am

    http://bonniebluedenim.blogspot.com/search/label/step%20outside%20your%20box%20saturday
    Just found all of you, and this is something I did previously…that was out of the box in the medium used….for me…and since then I think I have gotten back in the box…time to pop out again, thanks!
    I goofed and posted under no adhesive….I didn’t use adhesive …no wait I did. I hot glued the letters to buttons. oh well thanks for looking

  9. 13 Cleo March 1, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Hi, here is my entrance for this weeks theme here.
    Hope you like it!
    http://cleoscreativblog.blogspot.com/2008/03/step-outside-your-box.html


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

