Color Your World …… Differently

I don’t know about you but, even though I have every color imaginable in both inks and paints, I find that some of them rarely  get used.  Anything pastel, forget it, my brightly colored paint tubes are still full.  I’m an earth tones and jewel tones kinda artist.  On the other hand I’m sure there are those of you that wouldn’t dream of choosing a Burnt Sienna, or a Raw Umber.  Good thing everyone has such different color pallet favorites or the world of art would all look the same.  So todays challenge is to Step Outside Your Box and into a box of different colors.  Use colors that you wouldn’t dream of using any other time.  What you choose to make with these colors is entirely up to you, go and create!

11 Responses to “Color Your World …… Differently”


  1. 1 Kathryn McAllister April 4, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    OK Lisa . . . I took the challenge and used lime green! What was I thinking? You can see the results on my blog. Kisses, Kathy

  2. 2 Lisa April 5, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    The color I never use is yellow–but I did it, and I like it! Tell me what you think…..
    http://simple-journeys.blogspot.com/2008/04/secrets-are-for-sharing.html

  3. 3 Cynthia (Rainbow Lady) April 5, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Here is my unusually, for me, coloured entry
    Thanks for viewing
    Love Cynthia x

    http://rainbowladyscraftyblog.blogspot.com/2008/04/oriental-lady.html

  4. 6 Hiekkaoliivi April 6, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    My gray ATC:
    Gray

    Thank you for viewing!

  5. 8 Sharon Bertram April 7, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Although I love the 60’s, I am not a fan of the colors. My piece did not come out as well as expected, but I did do my best for the theme.

    http://www.thealteringspotbysharon.bogspot.com

  6. 9 Rosie April 7, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I went way outside my normal zone (if there is such a thing!!). This challenged rocked my socks off… and really surprised my DH!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/04/07/claudias-fluorescent-box/

  7. 11 Rosie Radcliffe April 11, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    It had to be black and white for me – something I NEVER do and found really really hard …. but here it is:-

    http://atcexchange.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

