Books

Having just participated in a chunky book swap that turned out just amazing, I’m in a book kinda mood.  In the past I have altered a board book with Stampsmith images.  It was something that I’ve kept for myself over the years because I love the way it turned out.  I’ve also tried my hand at an altered book, 2 actually, but have yet to fully complete one.  Journals are another type of book that I have been working on, which has been set to the side while I work on my canvases.  There are just so many different kinds of books you can do whether you alter an existing book or make one from scratch.  Lets see how far Outside Your Box you can Step this week!

*The photo is of an altered book by an amazing artist named Brian Dettmer.  You can see more of his work here.

14 Responses to “Books”


  1. 1 Gayle Page-Robak April 26, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Not sure if I am posting my book to the right area, Lisa. Thought this was one I could contribute to. Let me know if I should be posting to a different area, please. To View 2 parts of one of my handmade books, please go to:

    http://gaylepage-robak.blogspot.com/search/label/Book%20Arts

  2. 3 Heather Robinson April 26, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Hmmm….been having difficulty leaving comments for challenges the last couple of days. Thought I’d try just leaving a message without the link.

  3. 6 gaby braun April 27, 2008 at 3:37 am

    This is a very beautiful book you have.
    Here is my entry:
    http://gaby-cajubrasil.blogspot.com/2008/04/step-outside-your-boxes-book.html
    The story behind this book is very sad, but it’s a hommage.
    Thanks for looking!

  4. 7 Tracey aka rattytatty April 28, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Briliant altered book. Wow must have taken ages. Now got to find a book to alter

  5. 8 Rosie May 1, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Lisa… I was so inspired by Brain Dettmer’s books I had a go myself!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/05/01/my-first-altered-book/

  6. 9 Susann May 2, 2008 at 6:15 am

    This is the first time I’m participating, although I look here every week: You are all so inspiring.

    I didn’t create an altered book, but I made mine from scrap: I always find it so embarrassing to ‘destroy’ a book, even it is more beautiful afterwards 😉

    Artist Book

  7. 10 Sharon Bertram May 2, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Well, thanks to Lisa, I finally finished (I think) a book I started awhile ago….

    http://www.thealteringspotbysharon.blogspot.com

  8. 11 SammieJay May 3, 2008 at 8:09 am

    This is only a jotter, but my first altered anything. I’ve often admired those ribbon flowers that people ake and finally got round to giving it a go.
    http://buttonzandbradz.blogspot.com/2008/05/pink-and-black-plus-one.html
    Thanks for looking.
    SammieJay

  9. 12 SammieJay May 3, 2008 at 8:12 am

    http://buttonzandbradz.blogspot.com/2008/05/pink-and-black-plus-one.html

    My first altered anything!!! Only a jotter, but I’ve admired those ribbon flowers people make and finally got round to giving it a go. Thanks for looking.
    SammieJay

  10. 13 SammieJay May 3, 2008 at 8:14 am

    My post doesn’t seem to want to go! I’ll try without the link!

    This is my first altered anything -so definitely out of my box. I have also admired ribbon flowers and have finally got round to trying one. These may be within many people’s boxes, but is totally new to me.

    Altered jotter by a debutante on my blog -post dated May 3rd.

    Thanks for looking.

    SammieJay

  11. 14 ernest pipe February 12, 2009 at 1:02 am

    if you want to find out more about brian dettmer, the man and artist, check this post out

    brian dettmer: book autopsies

    he was so incited by herocious that he personally left a rather lengthy comment.

    got a laugh out of it at least.


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

