Think BIG

Most of us are used to working in smaller formats, regular sized cards, ATC’s, Skinny’s,4×4’s or even Inchies.  Those are pretty safe zones to most of us.  This week lets step outside of our box and create something that is 8×10 or larger.  Some of you have been working on 8×10 spaces on a regular basis, so, think larger than 8×10.  I have 1 canvas that I have done that is 24×36 (I think those are the dimensions), it’s a rather personal piece so unfortunatly I won’t be sharing it here, but I can tell you it was very freeing to tackle that big space and just to let my paint flow.  You don’t have to use paints of course, work with whatever you’re comfortable with. 

8 Responses to “Think BIG”


  1. 1 gaby braun May 3, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I have an entry on my blog, but unfortunatelly I can not link this to wordpress.

  2. 2 Nan May 4, 2008 at 4:07 am

    I haven’t worked on anything bigger than a 6×6 in well over a year, so this was a very nice and much needed change. http://pandoras-artbox.blogspot.com/2008/05/saturdays-daily-artchallenges.html

    Thanks for looking!

  3. 3 Rosie May 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I’ve managed 2 canvasses today, both 10″ x 8″ which is a welcome change! Thanks for pushing the envelope again!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/05/05/thinking-big-with-paint/

  4. 4 Gabrielle Fabian May 8, 2008 at 1:19 am

    My first time here, and this was a great challenge for me. Hope you enjoy the largest Piece I ever made!!

    http://parissalon.blogspot.com/2008/05/big-collage.html

    Cheers,
    Gaye

  5. 5 Lisa May 8, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Fantastic challenge! I usually only get as big as an altered book spread. It was fun to jump out there with a whopping 16′ x 20′ canvas!
    http://simple-journeys.blogspot.com/2008/05/think-big.html

  6. 6 Lisa May 8, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Fantastic challenge! The biggest I ever get is an altered book spread. What fun to jump out with a whopping 16x 20 canvas!

    My link will not post…please stop by to see my project.

  7. 7 Kathy May 10, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Here is my newest “larger” piece.
    I am happy to come visit and post in this great challenge thread today!
    http://vintagesnapsandscraps.blogspot.com/2008/05/french-quarterdays-gone-by.html

  8. 8 Cynthia (Rainbow Lady) May 11, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Here is my entry slightly late sorry so I have combined it with this weeks challenge.
    Thanks for looking
    Love Cynthia x

    http://rainbowladyscraftyblog.blogspot.com/2008/05/big-red-and-3d.html


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

