Depth without Texture

 This week lets work on layering things, but lets do it without making a huge amount of texture.  I’m not just talking about layering your cards, I’m talking about depth of colors and images, and script.  When I do a canvas, I usually put a layer of paint down, then either stamp or layer book pages or tissue paper, then more paint, and maybe more stamps or papers.  When all is said and done you have great depth to it.  Sometimes you can’t see much of the very first paints/inks you put on but it incorporates into everything to give it depth.  You might want to use something heavier than just card stock for this, maybe watercolor paper or coasters if you do a 4×4 even canvas/canvas board.

My hope in doing all these weekly challenges, is to help all of us to grow as artists and to learn new things.  If there is anything that I haven’t done yet, that you’d like to see me do, please don’t hesitate to email me jgiffordii@wi.rr.com

8 Responses to “Depth without Texture”


  1. 1 Angenita May 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I have had much fun by creating my entry this morning. Thanks for the theme, it really was a challenge.
    http://angenita.punt.nl/?id=433428&r=1&tbl_archief=&

  2. 2 Rosie May 17, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/05/17/chalky-depths/

    This was fun and provoked a lot of art-class memories – schooldays – so thanks!!

  3. 4 filetta May 18, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Please, look at my blog to see my entry ! the link doesn’t work ! thanks

  4. 5 Sharon Bertram May 18, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I really enjoyed this one. I also enjoyed the fact that I actually had the time to do it (must be a blue moon out).

    http://www.thealteringspotbysharon.blogspot.com

  5. 6 Heather Robinson May 18, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    This is fantastic challenge blog…I know I say that a lot but I really mean it! Sorry, I’m still not able to leave direct links.

  6. 7 Kimmie May 19, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I had a go at this challenge – hope you like it 🙂

    http://artinredwagons.blogspot.com/2008/05/pierrot.html

  7. 8 Arlene May 20, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I just found this challenge and posted the perfect piece
    ” Princess Emily ” for it on my blog over the weekend. Thanks for looking !

    http://alteredbyme.blogspot.com/2008/05/busy-art-weekend.html

    Arlene


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

