Pour It

  I used watered down paint on this canvas, but there’s no reason you can’t pour ink as well.  (hmmmm I should try that).  This is such a fun fun technique!!  It’s very simple actually, if you use paint, just thin it down and put it in a cup of some kind and tip your canvas on end, and pour!  If you did it in a smaller version with ink, I’m thinking that an eye dropper would work.  I do hope you’ll take the time to play with this technique because it’s just so fun!  I wonder what else you could pour to make art?

7 Responses to “Pour It”


  1. 1 Helen Lystra May 24, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Pouring is great fun, I pour paint all the time. On my blog,I’m currently posting the steps I take to pour a painting. Eye droppers, squirt bottles work beautifully.

  2. 2 Rosie May 24, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Helen I’ll come see!! I used little cups to pour watercolours – worked okay for the first experiment!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/05/24/pour-it/

  3. 3 Sharon Bertram May 25, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Another great “Step.” Had some fun with this one, again.

    By the way, I love the other postings here – I just haven’t the time to respond lately :{

    http://thealteringspotbysharon.blogspot.com

  4. 4 Michi Michaelson May 26, 2008 at 2:13 am

    I LOVE this paint pouring, Lisa!!!! A bunch of my retired teachers/stamping buddies came over from about 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM on Friday to play . . . I started playing with acrylic paints . . . the student grade kind . . . Liquitex BASICS because I was too “chicken” to use my expensive paints to start off with . . . it was TOO MUCH FUN!!!! I’ll have to try this paint pouring!!! I LOVE what you did with it!!!!!!!!

  5. 5 Michi Michaelson May 26, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    OK, Lisa . . . here are some of the cards I did with my first experiments with acrylic paints on my blog . . . YOU ASKED FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!! (Like that old timey TV Show!!!!)

    http://michirhymeswithpeachy.blogspot.com/

  6. 6 Kimmie May 28, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Thanks again for an awesome challenge! I will definitely be using this technique again and again!

    http://artinredwagons.blogspot.com/2008/05/its-pouring.html

  7. 7 Casey June 6, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    I didn’t get a chance to post last week, so here it is, a week late!
    http://caseymaupin.blogspot.com/2008/06/summers-here.html


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

