Alter it the SOYBS Way

I’m sure most of us have altered books, boxes and cd’s and other “normal” kinds of things, but lets really step it up and alter something that you don’t see every day.  I’ve seen photo’s of someone who altered the computer they use every day.  One of my most favorite neclaces was made by a g/f using an altered guitar pick.  So you see, size isn’t an issue, could be something large or something small, the point is for it to just be something Outside the Box.

8 Responses to “Alter it the SOYBS Way”


  1. 3 kreativgeschwafel June 8, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    And easily to see … Fatma and me did nearly the same 😉
    Here’s my new belt:
    http://kreativgeschwafel.wordpress.com/2008/06/08/step-outside-your-box-alter-something-unusual/
    TFL
    Ilonka

  2. 4 June Campbell June 8, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    I’ve made necklaces using old optical lenses, altered with images and tiny journaling pasted on. My cousin, who works in optometry plus does crafts, loved them.

  3. 5 Heather Robinson June 11, 2008 at 11:11 am

    This is not too “over the top” in terms of creativity but I altered cds to make a card. The photo of them is on my blog.

  4. 6 Kimmie June 11, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Thank you for the challenge – I will see what I can begin and possibly finish this quiet Wednesday 🙂

  5. 7 Kimmie June 11, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I LOVED this challenge …. I hope you never get burned out on hosting this! It’s one of my favorite challenge blogs I’ve found yet!

    Here’s mine:

    https://stepoutsideyourboxsaturdays.wordpress.com/2008/06/07/alter-it-the-soybs-way/

    I altered a pie tin 🙂

  6. 8 Kimmie June 11, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    WHOOPS! I did that wrong …. here’s what I meant to paste in:

    http://artinredwagons.blogspot.com/2008/06/altered-pie-tin.html

    So Sorry! You can just delete that previous comment if you want to!


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

