Glass

Glass, what a great thing to add to our artwork.  I love the way that it brings clarity and shows color through it when it’s clear.  Then there’s sea glass which isn’t so transparent, but has beautiful colors to it.  There are some beautiful glass bottles, in fun, flowing shapes.  Old windows with tons of character, and lets not forget stained glass and art glass. 

This week I’d like you to look at glass in a different way, but lets not just just pull out one of those glass slides that you can purchase in pkgs at your local craft store, but lets try to pull in other types of glass into our art.  Oh and the cracked glass technique using UTEE doesn’t count LOL

Watch for sharp edges though and becareful, there is no blood allowed in this weeks challenge.

4 Responses to “Glass”


  1. 1 Rosie July 19, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Lisa – this is a tough one… I’m considering breaking something! I haven’t yet, but I may try combining this with the next outstanding challenge you set for us… Please don’t stop thinking them up – they’re the best!

  2. 2 Fran Podlesney July 19, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I juat stumbled onto your blog and am INTRIGUED by this glass piece. I have a couple pieces of clear glass from picture frames that I had altered, and would love to do something with them. What is this technique? I LOVE it!

    Thank you in advance (you see, I’m sure you’ll tell me)
    Fran POdlesney

  3. 3 Sharon Bertram July 20, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    It’s me… Trying to get myself back into the groove again. I hope the piece posted does the trick for this section. Let me know.

    Sharon B.
    http://www.thealteringspotbysharon.blogspot.com

  4. 4 Jill July 21, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Lisa l have always looked at your other blog but l am so glad after reading your message on the group that l clicked this one, love the glass one and can l ask if you would share the technique with me as its fantastic,have this blog bookmarked now,
    Jill


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

