Watercolors, muted tones

I was talking to a friend this past week and we got to talking about watercolors and more muted tones.  We both agreed that it wasn’t something either of us was very comfortable working in.  Watercolors just don’t seem to have much vibrancy or depth of color that usually make me happy.  So this week we’re gonna play with watercolors, I know some of you are probably good with them so this just may be a piece of cake for you.  For the rest of us though, this is a stretch!  Good luck!

5 Responses to “Watercolors, muted tones”


  1. 1 Cory July 19, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Thank you for choosing watercolor…I love the medium.
    My watercolor experiment can be found here.
    http://createwithmoxie.blogspot.com/

  2. 2 rainbowlady July 19, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Here is my entry for this week and thanks for looking
    Love Cynthia x

    http://rainbowladyscraftyblog.blogspot.com/2008/07/hula-dancing-doll.html

  3. 3 Alberta July 20, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Mine is a double challenge for Watercolors and for Saturday’s Workout “Spotlight” challenge. It’s called “Love Transforms,” and it’s a mixed media collage. Although I often use watercolors as my primary medium, it’s always a challenge to make the hues as vibrant as I want them to be.

  4. 4 Jodi July 20, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Here are my contributions for this week’s challenge. I don’t remember the last time I used watercolors, so this was fun.

    http://artfromthehart.blogspot.com/

    Jodi

  5. 5 Rosie July 23, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I used watercolour pencils and they look brighter (due in some part to the flash I think) than they are in reality! I like their versatility for quick backgrounds…

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/07/23/giles-returns/


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

