Whose your favorite artist?

         Other than yourself of course, who is your favorite artist?  Mine would be Jackson Pollock.  I’m very much into abstract art and I texture and his dripped paint pieces just suck me right in!  I recently tried to emulate his style of painting and make my own Jackson Pollock-ish piece of art, however, it was much more difficult than I had anticipated it being, but I’m glad I tried and I came up with something all my own.  This weeks challenge is to take the works of an artist you like and try your hand at it.  Try to emulate what they do, see what you can do to make it your own as well.

3 Responses to “Whose your favorite artist?”


  1. 1 Jacqueline Sullivan September 3, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Golden’s Clear Tar Getl was developed for the Pollock movie to emulate the effects that he got with the dripping paint. You might want to try it. You can mix color in with it and drip it off the end of a brush or a fork or something similar – way fun!
    Jacqueline

  2. 2 Jacqueline Sullivan September 3, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Golden’s Clear Tar Gel was developed for the Pollock movie to emulate the effects that he got with the dripping paint. You might want to try it. You can mix color in with it and drip it off the end of a brush or a fork or something similar – way fun!
    Jacqueline

  3. 3 Rosie September 4, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Lisa – this was really interesting! Love this theme and have made a journal homage to Picasso!

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/09/04/my-favourite-artist/


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

