Backgrounds

I’m a bit overwhelmed this week so we’re going simple and easy this week.  When ever I’m feeling creatively challenged but have the urge to create just the same, I start by making some backgrounds.  The picture here is of one of my favorite background techniques called Paint Scraping.  I know we all have some favorites, but lets use this challenge to try some new ones. 

I’m not sure if you’re familiar with Trish Bee, but she’s got this great thing going on on her website, it’s an Art Adventure in Backgrounds called Background Noise Challenge. She’s got a bunch of neat background techniques there. 

Lets try something new with this challenge and steer away from the ol’ polished stone backgrounds.

6 Responses to “Backgrounds”


  1. 1 Alberta September 6, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Today’s challenge was especially exciting for me because I included my first tutorial!

  2. 2 Rosie September 6, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    That is one gorgeous scraped paint background Lisa! I made one with numbers this week and I liked it so much I’m challenging peeps to use it!! 😉

    http://alteredartandstuff.wordpress.com/2008/09/06/sunday-share-blog-candy-challenge/

  3. 5 Virginia September 8, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Thank You for the challenge…Love your background..

  4. 6 iHanna September 21, 2008 at 11:35 am

    creating backgrounds is one of the most fun thing with mixed media I think! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Whats This All About

Each week a new challenge will be posted. Your task is to then go create!!! When you're done, upload a photo of it to your own blog or website. Then post a comment here with a link to your photo so that we can all see what you've created. WARNING: THIS IS A FLOURISH FREE ZONE!!!!! I love flourishes just as much as the next artist, heck, I've even got one tattooed on the top of my left foot. However, flourishes seem to be IN everyone's box these days. Since this is an OUT of your box challenge, lets refrain from using them for these challenges.

